Is Wine Gluten Free? (Red & White Wine)


Many people struggle with their love for certain foods and drinks. This can be for a myriad of reasons, including vegetarianism, veganism, dieting, or even allergies. Or just a simple preference. But when someone has to watch what they consume it can get tiring quite easily, especially if they can’t eat something common. Like gluten wine, for example.

The worst part is that in many places the manufacturers don’t have to disclose the ingredients on the bottle. This can easily result in some pretty serious health issues. Better safe than sorry.

So, is it possible to drink wine for people without their gluten allergy kicking in?

What is Gluten?

This question is important, as it explains what would need to be in your drink for it to cause you discomfort or health issues.

Gluten itself is a mixture of two proteins called gliadin and glutelins. They can mostly be found in cereal grains like wheat, oats, rice, barley or even corn.

Unfortunately, the proteins don’t become irrelevant if you only use grains as an ingredient. Gluten can still be found in large quantities, even if only a little bit of wheat (or any other grain) has been used. Let’s take bread for example. Gluten makes up 75-85% of protein in it. That’s a crazy amount, especially if it could trigger your allergy with even a tenth of that.

It’s also awful to think about the number of people who struggle with this. Around 0,7-1% of the population has celiac disease, but up to 13% of people experience some kind of intolerance. This means that you will be very likely to meet someone who is in this situation. If you don’t become one yourself.

Fun fact: the name gluten is derived from the glue-like consistency of wet dough.

Is There Gluten in Wine?

You probably already know that wine is mainly made from grapes. Or from fruit at the very least. This makes it an unlikely drink to contain gluten, as it’s more overloaded with glucose than anything.

But the rest of the ingredients don’t seem to be any more dangerous either. Yeast, alcohol or distilled alcohol are all gluten-free, which means that they shouldn’t affect the overall product.

Legally speaking, there is a really small amount of gluten in wine. But it’s less than 20 parts per million, which makes it “gluten-free”. It can’t trigger anything, so you don’t face any risks.

So, technically no. There is no gluten in wine. Normally.

Learn how to make wine at home in “How To Make Wine At Home” and check out “Supplies You Need to Make Homemade Wine” for a list of all the supplies and tools you’d need.

Being Produced Next to Things Full of Gluten

Not many see the risks it actually holds to manufacture several foods or drinks in the same building. But these problems are quite relevant, as most producers want to optimize production and don’t really care about health issues.

Well, if you start to experience the symptoms you usually do when you consume gluten and you only drank wine then this is the most likely culprit. A lot of manufacturers glaze over this and it certainly won’t be an obvious fact.

In some countries, it’s mandatory to disclose if any other allergenic thing is being made in the same space, for this exact reason. Look up whatever you’re drinking just to make sure.

Is There a Difference Between Red & White Wines Regarding Gluten?

We have already talked about the ingredients, which don’t differ. This means that no, there is no significant difference.

Both are made from fruits, meaning that they are mainly just juice. The only way your wine contains gluten (whether it be red or white) is by something listed above. Those are the only ways you could get this allergen in your drink, which means that you shouldn’t take one kind more seriously than you do the other.

Red and white wine do not differ. Both are normally gluten-free. Be sure to also check out “Can You Mix Red and White Wine?” for info in seeing if you can mix these two wines to make new tastes happen.

Are There Wine Options for Those Who Can’t Have Gluten?

Of course, there are!

There are several companies that dedicated decades to perfecting gluten-free wines. They taste the same as regular wine (sometimes even better) and they work for even the most gluten-sensitive people.

So if you thought that you had to leave your favorite drink behind then don’t worry. You don’t. You just need to switch brands.

The best part is that you won’t have limited choices just because you can’t consume gluten. Manufacturers want you to have just as much variety as anyone else, so they make all kinds of wine. Not just basic ones.

If you have a serious condition, like celiac disease, then everything you eat should be double-checked. This also goes for wine, as you now know what the risks are. There are too many occasions where gluten can contaminate the wine. Although, normally you shouldn’t be worried. Just make sure you stay safe and bottoms up!

Did this post help you understand the relationship between wine and gluten? Tell us down in the comments below!

Be sure to check out related content to enhance your wine knowledge like “Detailed Guide to Making Wine Gummy Bears With Ease” or even “Try Out These Amazing Wine Substitutes to Make Alcohol-Free Dishes“.

Wine on My Time is a resource blog for wine lovers all across the world! We take pride in delivering the best quality wine material for our readers. Check us out on Instagram and   Pinterest for daily wine content!

Other Posts You Might Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your custom text © Copyright 2020. All rights reserved.